top of page

Holiday Booktube-A-Thon 2016! TBR


The semester is finally over and I get to open my winter break with the Holiday Booktube-A-Thon!

Bless.

Holiday Booktube-A-Thon is a challenge created by the Booktubeathon channel (hosted by Ariel Bisset). This year the booktubeathon runs from December 29th-31st. There are 3 (and a bonus) challenges to complete during those three days.

The title says Booktube-a-thon, but whadahell I might as well.

The following are the reading challenges and the book I will be reading for each.

1) Read a book that has your favorite color on the cover

And I Darken by Kiersten White.

My favorite colors are black, purple, and red. Black takes precedence. It's such an enchanting color.

This cover is incredibly gorgeous and has two of my favorite colors. I also have really been wanting to read this book because a) it's a retelling, b) it's a historical retelling of Vlad, one of the cruelest historical figures, c) Vlad's character in this novel is a female (yesssss), and d) I'm interested to see the portrayal of Islam.

I have heard great reviews and I'm excited to finally read it.

2) Read a book from a genre you discovered this year

We Were Liars by e. Lockhart

Contemporary. It's not that I just "discovered" contemporary, but it's more that I began to actually think of reading more from this genre. I'm not particularly drawn to contemporary, although I had read some contemporary novels before. But with the emergence of more diverse characters and experiences in contemporary novels, I'm beginning to actually add them to my TBR list.

I received We Were Liars from Penguin as part of a sweepstakes, and I think it's about time to read it.

3) Read a book that was gifted to you

Unhinged by A.G Howard

My best friend got me this book on my birthday, whenI had just read Splintered (the first book) and was raving about it. Unhinged is the second book of the trilogy, an Alice in Wonderland retelling. I had my issues with Splintered, but I still loved the Wonderland that Howard constructed, so much.

So excited. I'm so excited.

*Bonus* Read three books

El. oh. el.

elohelelohelelohelelohelelohelelohelelohelelohelelohelelohelelohel.

I highly doubt I'll be able to read three extra books. But for the sake of hope, I'll try to finish Illuminae. And I'll most likely read Splintered before Unhinged.

As for the third extra book... we'll see as I go along. It'll be my wildcard.

 

What would be your choices? Are you participating this year?

Thanks for being here, lovely person.

Until next time.

RECENT POSTS
SEARCH BY TAGS
No tags yet.
ARCHIVE
bottom of page